Noriega's Home Noriega's Menu About Noriega's


The Noriega Hotel was founded by Faustino Noriega and Fernando Etcheverry in 1893 and taken over in 1931 by Juan and Gracianna Elizalde. It has been operated by the Elizalde family ever since. Originally a hotel, it eventually became a men's boardinghouse. In 1940 the success of the restaurant necessitated the addition of the present bar and dining room. It is now recognized as the oldest, and last, Basque boardinghouse/restaurant in the world. The Noriega Hotel continues to be the hub of the Kern County Basque community and is proud to serve exceptional Basque "family style" meals to the public.


Honors

2011 James Beard Foundation America's Classic Award
The James Beard Foundation honored the Noriega Restaurant and Hotel as an "American Classic." A video which commemorates the award can be seen here.


Links

The Spotlight Finds a Basque Shepherds' Canteen
The New York Times writes about Noriega's and the James Beard Award.

A Place to Bask in Basque Culture
The Los Angeles Times details the Noriega's experience.

Laos and Portugal in Basque Country
The New York Times also stops by for a visit.

How the West Was Drunk
An Atlantic Monthly article about the (in)famous Picon Punch.

Basque in Bakersfield
The LA Weekly shares their love of Bakersfield Basques.

Indulging in American Basque Cuisine
The Smithsonian Magazine talks about Noriega's and Basque Boarding House cuisine in general.